At long last: New Beirut confirms new disc this summer

Beirut

Hear a brand-new Beirut track, East Harlem, by clicking here.

Wonder where Beirut has gone? Well, the band is finally back with a new album. The band’s publicist just announced that Beirut’s first full-length album in four years, The Rip Tide, is due for release Aug. 30. Bandleader Zach Condon is putting it out on his own label, Pompeii Records, “so as to keep total creative control.”

It’s tough to imagine that an artist-friendly label like Beirut’s longtime home, Ba-Da-Bing Records, gave Zach any difficulty when it came to creative control. But that doesn’t much matter, as long as we’e getting a new album. Which we are.

Here’s the press release, along with a link to a stream of one song from the dics. Plus a concert schedule:

The Rip Tide marks a dramatic and intimate shift from The Flying Club Cup (2007) and his “stop-off in Mexico” by way of the March of the Zapotec EP (2009). The album will feature “East Harlem” and  “Goshen,” which appear on the band’s  new limited edition single out NOW.

Listen to The Rip  Tide’s “East  Harlem” stream here:
http://soundcloud.com/revolver-usa/beirut-east-harlem

The Rip  Tide will be released internationally and independently on Pompeii Records (via Revolver in the US), a label started, and wholly owned by Beirut’s Zach Condon with no large label affiliation whatsoever, so as  to keep total creative control.

The Rip Tide track listing is as follows:

1. A Candle’s Fire
2. Santa Fe
3. East Harlem
4. Goshen
5. Payne’s Bay
6. The Rip Tide
7. Vagabond
8. The Peacock
9. Port of Call

Beirut plays select US dates leading up to The Rip Tide’s release. More dates to  be announced.

Wed. June 8 — Austin, TX @ ACL Live w/ Twin  Sister

Fri. June 10 — New Orleans, LA @ Republic w/ Twin  Sister

Sun. June 12 — Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo

Tue. June 14 — Washington, DC @ Black Cat w/ Twin  Sister

Fri. June 17 — Brooklyn, NY @ Northside Fest @  McCarren Park w/ Sharon Van Etten

Thu. June 30 — London, UK @ Hyde Park w/ Arcade  Fire

Sun. July 3 — St. Gallen, Switzerland @ St.  Gallen Fest

Tue. July 5 — Ferrara, Italy @ Costello  PIazza

Thu. July 7 — Republic of Serbia @ Exit  Festival

Sat. July 9 — Slovakia @ Pohoda

Tue. July 12 — Arles, France @ Arles  Fest

Thu. July 14 — Meco, Portugal @ Super Bock Super  Rock

Sat. July 16 — Valencia, Spain @ Benicassim  Festival

Mon. July 18 — Lyon, France @ Les Nuits de  Fourviere

Wed. July 20 — Nyon, Switzerland @ Paleo  Festival

Fri. July 29 — Portland, ME @ State  Theater

Sun. July 31 — Montreal, QC @ Osheaga

Tue. Aug. 2 –Toronto, ON @ The Phoenix

Thu. Aug. 4 –Toronto, ON @ The Phoenix w/ Owen  Pallett

Fri. Aug. 5 — Sun. Aug. 7 – Chicago, IL @  Lollapalooza

Wed. Aug. 10 — Vancouver, BC @  Commodore

Fri. Aug. 12 — Portland, OR @ Crystal  Ballroom

Sun. Aug. 14 — San Francisco, CA @ Outside  Lands

Fri. Sep. 2 — Dorset, UK @ End of Road  Festival

Sun. Sep. 4 — Stradbally, Ireland @ Electric  Picnic

Tue. Sep. 6 — Manchester, UK @ Manchester  Academy

Thu. Sep. 8 — Amsterdam, Netherlands @  Paradiso

Mon. Sep. 12 — Paris, France @ Olympia

Wed. Sep. 14 — Brussels, Belgium @ AB

Fri. Sep. 16 — London, UK @ Brixton
Academy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s